This website uses cookies. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Okay
Hadija saidi j Cf Dz OQ2 C8 unsplash 2000px
Back to Articles

Creating Moments of Enthusiasm

A main focus for brand managers these days is the Net Promoter Score, NPS for short. They want as many ‘yes’s’ as possible in response to the question ‘would you recommend us?’ The initiatives in the companies that follow the NPS programmes, however, start with the ‘no’. With great effort, analyses are carried out, information is collected and projects are started to combat the reasons for the ‘no’.

A main focus for brand managers these days is the Net Promoter Score, NPS for short. They want as many ‘yes’s’ as possible in response to the question ‘would you recommend us?’ The initiatives in the companies that follow the NPS programmes, however, start with the ‘no’. With great effort, analyses are carried out, information is collected and projects are started to combat the reasons for the ‘no’.

The aim is to improve where the competition is ahead. As brand experts, however, we know that this is just a way to catch up on missed homework. If, on the other hand, you would focus on standing out even more from the competition in those areas where you are already succeeding, then your customers will become fans.

Friday night on the motorway to Germany. Shortly before the destination, my Mercedes is flat. The safety mode has been switched on. We can only make progress by crawling. One thing is certain: I have to get back to Zurich on Sunday afternoon. I remember the ‘mobility guarantee’ that the Mercedes salesman had described so nicely to me. So I dial the Mercedes customer service.

"Don’t worry, you will definitely be driving back to Zurich in your car or a replacement car we provide to you. May we pick up your car tonight?”

“Sure.”

“When can we get back to you with the fault diagnosis?”

“As soon as possible.”

The phone rings at 1 a.m.

“We've found the fault and fixed it, should we still bring your car back to you tonight?”

“Tonight? Well, better tomorrow morning around ten.”

“Wonderful, with pleasure. Have a good night and please excuse the inconvenience.”

At a quarter to ten, the tow truck pulls up with my car. Washed and vacuumed. A friendly handshake, a handover of keys, and I'm mobile again. What a top service. The Mercedes brand promise ‘the best or nothing’ implemented in a first-class manner. My answer to the question of all questions would be ‘yes’.

HBC Illu Fische Begeisterungsmomente

Creating Position-Enhancing Moments of Enthusiasm

What this example taken from real-life shows is that the Mercedes brand is not driving the ‘closing the gap’ strategy. It does not simply optimise services that the competition provides better. Instead, it works on real, brand-strengthening differentiation. Where you are already good, you go one better and make sure that the experience for the customer is significantly better than he expects. So good that the customer remembers it and talks about it.

Simply catching up with the benchmarks is not enough to do this. It leads to expectations being met. But it does not lead to exceeding them and thus to triggering enthusiasm for a brand that turns customers into fans. Fans who would not only recommend the brand to others (as the question in the NPS rating checks) but who actually do so. The result is that theoretical recommendations result in a real business impact.

Strong brands look at the dimensions in which they are already performing well - and set differentiating and position-strengthening moments of enthusiasm at this point. For example, if I, as an insurance company, already know that I am good at service but am perceived as too expensive, optimising the cost structure and price communication as an NPS initiative is certainly important. Truly differentiating and thus at least as important is the ‘Service Experience Boost’ project, which builds on existing strengths in such a way that real differentiation and recommendations are triggered.

What are your brand's moments of enthusiasm? Do you know them? And your employees, do they have the necessary support to realise moments of enthusiasm? Does the goal-setting follow the implementation?

Know, Want, Can, Do!

These questions can be answered with the help of the brand perspective. The brand perspective provides orientation in defining the strengths of a brand and in the question of how these can be developed into real enthusiasm factors. This does not happen on its own but must happen within the organization.

So the first thing to do is inspire the employees to emphasise their own strengths even more clearly. However, incorporating this in ‘Management by Objectives’ is not enough. At this point, we support the brand managers in getting the topic onto the C-level agenda so that the necessary resources (human and financial) are made available.

This is then followed by the supreme discipline, ‘the doing’. Together with the brand managers, we ensure that the goal does not remain a vision, but becomes reality (because there is nothing good unless you actually do it). For us, brand-oriented management means building on the strengths of a brand. They generate appreciation among customers and contribute to value creation. This is then reflected in the NPS, but, more importantly, in customer loyalty and new customer acquisition, is triggered by ‘word of mouth’.

So Popular Because Everyone Understands It: About the NPS and How It Is Measured

For some time now, companies have understood that not only are sales important, but satisfaction is an essential KPI. After all, positive customer experiences increase sales. And this is where the Net Promoter Score (NPS) comes into play.

The NPS is a customer loyalty metric developed by Fred Reichheld, Bain & Company and Satmetrix. The metric is based on a single question: how likely are you to recommend our company/product/service to a friend or colleague? Answers can vary from 0 to 10:

9 - 10

Promoters: They are happy and loyal and should be used as testimonials by your brand.

7 - 8

The Passives: They are happy but are also quick to move on to a competitor.

0 - 6

The Critics. They are dissatisfied and can be dangerous to your brand by spreading negative messages and reviews.

The Net Promoter Score is calculated by taking the percentage.

More Insights

Related Articles

Subscribe

Durch die Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden.

Okay
Hadija saidi j Cf Dz OQ2 C8 unsplash 2000px
Zurück zu Artikeln

Wie der NPS wirklich nützlich wird

Der NPS (Net Promoter Score) spielt bei immer mehr Markenstrategien eine zentrale Rolle. Wie bekommen Marken mehr “Ja’s” auf die Frage "Würden Sie uns weiterempfehlen?

Die Zielgrösse aller Zielgrössen ist dieser Tage für MarkenChefs der Net Promoter Score – kurz NPS. Möglichst viele «JA»-Sager wollen sie auf die Frage: Würden Sie uns weiterempfehlen? Die aus den NPS-Programmen folgenden Initiativen in den Unternehmen setzen jedoch beim NEIN an. Mit grossem Aufwand werden Analysen durchgeführt, Informationen gesammelt und Projekte gestartet, um die Gründe für das NEIN zu bekämpfen.

Man will dort besser werden, wo einem die Konkurrenz voraus ist. Als Markenexperten wissen wir jedoch: Auf diese Art holt man lediglich versäumte Hausaufgaben nach. Wenn man sich hingegen genau dort noch mehr von der Konkurrenz abhebt, wo man bereits gut ist, dann werden aus Kunden Fans.

Freitagnacht auf der Autobahn nach Deutschland. Kurz vor dem Ziel liegt mein Mercedes flach. Der Sicherheitsmodus wurde eingeschaltet. Voran kommen wir nur noch kriechend. Fest steht, dass ich am Sonntagmittag flott zurück nach Zürich muss. Mir fällt die «Mobilitätsgarantie» ein, die der Verkäufer mir so schön umschrieben hatte. Also wähle ich den Mercedes-Kunden-Service.

"Keine Sorge, Sie werden auf jeden Fall mit Ihrem Auto oder einem Ersatzwagen, den wir Ihnen zur Verfügung stellen, nach Zürich zurückfahren. Dürfen wir Ihr Auto heute Abend abholen?”

“Klar.”

“Wann können wir Ihnen die Fehlerdiagnose zukommen lassen?”

“So bald als möglich.”

Nachts um 1 Uhr klingelt das Telefon.

“Wir haben den Fehler gefunden und behoben – sollen wir Ihnen Ihr Auto heute Nacht noch zurückbringen?”

“Heute Nacht? Lieber morgen früh gegen zehn.”

“Wunderbar, sehr gerne. Eine gute Nacht und entschuldigen Sie bitte vielmals die Umstände.”

Um viertel vor zehn fährt der Abschleppwagen mit meinem Auto vor. Gewaschen und gesaugt. Ein freundlicher Händedruck, Schlüsselübergabe – und ich bin wieder mobil. Was für ein Top-Service. Das Mercedes-Markenversprechen «Das Beste oder nichts» erstklassig umgesetzt. Meine Antwort auf die Frage aller Fragen wäre JA.

HBC Illu Fische Begeisterungsmomente

Positionsstärkende Begeisterungsmomente schaffen

Was das aus dem Leben gegriffene Beispiel zeigt: Die Marke Mercedes fährt nicht die «Closing the Gap»-Strategie. Es werden nicht einfach Leistungen optimiert, die der Wettbewerb besser erbringt. Stattdessen wird an der echten, markenstärkenden Differenzierung gearbeitet. Dort, wo man bereits gut ist, setzt man noch einen drauf und sorgt dafür, dass das Erlebnis für den Kunden deutlich besser ist, als er es erwartet. So gut, dass der Kunde es sich merkt und darüber spricht.

Das reine Aufholen des Rückstands auf die Benchmarks reicht dafür nicht aus. Es führt dazu, dass Erwartungen erfüllt werden. Nicht aber dazu, dass sie übertroffen werden – und man so Begeisterung für eine Marke auslöst, die Kunden zu Fans macht. Fans, die die Marke nicht nur weiterempfehlen würden, wie es die Frage im NPSRating abprüft, sondern die es wirklich tun. Sodass aus theoretischen Weiterempfehlungen ein realer Business Impact resultiert.

Starke Marken schauen auf die Dimensionen, in denen sie bereits gut performen – und setzen an dieser Stelle differenzierende und positionsstärkende Begeisterungsmomente. Konkret: Wenn ich als Versicherung bereits weiss, dass ich gut im Service bin – aber als zu teuer wahrgenommen werde – ist die Optimierung der Kostenstruktur und Preiskommunikation als NPS-Initiative sicher wichtig. Wirklich differenzierend und damit mindestens ebenso wichtig ist das Projekt «Service Experience Boost», das die bestehenden Stärken so ausbaut, dass wirkliche Differenzierung und Weiterempfehlungen ausgelöst werden.

Was sind die Begeisterungsmomente Ihrer Marke? Kennen Sie sie? Und Ihre Mitarbeitenden? Haben sie die notwendige Unterstützung, um Begeisterungsmomente zu realisieren? Folgt auf die Zielsetzung die Umsetzung?

Wissen, wollen, können, machen!

Diese Fragen können mithilfe der Markenperspektive beantwortet werden. Denn sie schafft Orientierung bei der Definition der Stärken einer Marke und bei der Frage, wie diese zu echten Begeisterungsfaktoren ausgebaut werden können. Das geschieht nicht von alleine, sondern muss in der Organisation passieren.

Es gilt also als Erstes die Mitarbeitenden zu begeistern, die eigenen Stärken noch deutlicher herauszustellen. Ein Eintrag in den MBO-Zielsetzungen reicht dafür aber nicht aus. An dieser Stelle unterstützen wir die Marken-Chefs, das Thema auf die C‑Level-Agenda zu bringen, sodass die nötigen Ressourcen (personell und finanziell) verfügbar gemacht werden.

Darauf folgt die Königsdisziplin. Das Machen. Gemeinsam mit den Marken-Chefs stellen wir sicher, dass das Ziel keine Vision bleibt, sondern Realität wird. Denn es gibt nichts Gutes, ausser man tut es. Markenorientierte Unternehmensführung bedeutet für uns, auf den Stärken einer Marke aufbauen. Sie generieren Wertschätzung bei den Kunden und leisten einen Beitrag zur Wertschöpfung. Das zeigt sich dann im NPS – vor allem aber in der Kundentreue und im Neukundengewinn, der durch «Word of Mouth» ausgelöst wird.

So beliebt, weil ihn jeder versteht: Über den NPS und wie er erhoben wird.

Unternehmen haben seit geraumer Zeit festgestellt, dass nicht nur Abschlüsse zählen, sondern auch die Zufriedenheit ein ganz wichtiger KPI ist. Denn positive Kundenerlebnisse steigern den Umsatz. Und hier kommt der Net Promoter Score (NPS) ins Spiel.

Der NPS ist eine Kundenbindungskennzahl, die von Fred Reichheld, Bain & Company und Satmetrix entwickelt wurde. Die Kennzahl stützt sich auf eine einzige Frage: Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass Sie unser Unternehmen/Produkt/Service einem Freund oder Kollegen empfehlen? Die Antworten können von 0 bis 10 variieren:

9 - 10

Die Promotoren: Sie sind glücklich und treu und sollten von Ihrer Marke als Testimonials eingesetzt werden.

7 - 8

Die Passiven: Sie sind zufrieden, aber weichen auch schnell zu einem Wettbewerber aus.

0 - 6

The Critics. They are dissatisfied and can be dangerous to your brand by spreading negative messages and reviews.

Abonnieren

  • © 2022 Hotz Brand Consultants
    Alle Rechte vorbehalten
  • Datenschutz