This website uses cookies. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Okay
Sketching 2020 09 29 09 17
Back to Articles

How Does Design Define Itself?

Design thinking, product design, industrial design, fashion design, and organisational design. Everything, it seems, is about design these days. What design means, however, is often unclear. A brand designer’s understanding is different to that of an organisational developer.

Design thinking, product design, industrial design, fashion design, and organisational design. Everything, it seems, is about design these days. What design means, however, is often unclear. A brand designer’s understanding is different to that of an organisational developer.

So, what exactly should companies do if they want to improve their design know-how?

In this interview, Thorsten Traber, Daniel Severin, and Michel Schibler approach this challenge. In it, they show that the concept of design actually affects many, indeed almost every area of an organisation. But at its core, this interview is about something fundamental: communicating the values and attitudes of an organisation appropriately and in a way that takes into account its needs. So there is never just design, there is always ‘design of’.

HBC Illu Design Fragezeichen

When we talk about design today, we can quickly get the impression that actually everything is about design: from smartphones to clothes, the design of workplaces to urban planning, or party programmes. Is such a concept of design still meaningful at all?

Thorsten:

“The term ‘design’ is used in somewhat of an inflationary way today. But it can be sharpened. Basically, design is simply about expressing the attitude of a company. The size of the company or the industry does not matter. Design makes content, ideas, and values tangible. This can be done visually, but also through scents, materials, surfaces, anything from the written word to architecture.”

Michel:

“Wherever people come into contact with each other or with a company, design plays a role. How does the product feel? How user-friendly is a website? What does an annual report look like? Is there an opportunity for feedback, and what impression does customer service make? How are complaints dealt with? Establishing this awareness and understanding of design in a company is a big challenge.”

Insight 04

So design is an essential aspect of good corporate governance.

Michel:

“It turns out that organisations with a high level of design competence perform better in the market than those that do not. That's why it's important that designers don't just tinker with logos, but are also involved in the overall development of an organisation at the management level or in interdisciplinary teams, for example.”

Daniel:

“It is also important for designers that design is lived and valued at management level. Because designing something always means exposing oneself. That takes courage and overcoming. A company must develop a culture that allows freedom for creativity.”

Thorsten:

“Part of this culture is to say goodbye to the assumption that the design process has to be fast, which, by the way, is an assumption you also often meet when dealing with clients. The digital possibilities, especially, suggest that it is easy to develop a new design.

There are websites for logos and for typesetting, as well as those that provide you with customisable templates for your own internet presence. But design does not simply consist of a modernised logo or a new arrangement of offers on the website. For a design to be successful, it is crucial for it to express the values and attitudes of the organisation. This can also be done in a non-verbal way, for example through a web or product design.

So the first step to good design is to develop this awareness of impact. You have to think carefully about what message you want to send and how you want it to be perceived. That's why the design process is a long, intricate process that you have to take time for.”

Daniel:

“Investing here is worth it, though. Not least because then you don't have to make numerous, cost-intensive extra runs during implementation.”

It almost sounds as if design is a decisive factor in the performance of an organisation. But don't other factors such as attractive working conditions or high product quality play a more important role?

Daniel:

“I don't think you can overestimate the role of design. Digitalisation contributes a lot to this. Digital opportunities such as platforms and forums lead to increased visibility and comparability of almost everything a company does. This raises the expectations of customers. Of course, this also leads to increased demands on design competence.”

Thorsten:

“Exactly. Today we are completely flooded with information. With design, you can—you have to—differentiate yourself. Good design allows an organisation to stand out from the egalitarian crowd.”

Michel:

“We have developed a high expectation of user-friendliness through apps such as Facebook, WhatsApp, and Google, and we are now transferring that. For example, when we open an account, go clothes shopping, or fill out the tax return, we expect a pleasant experience. If those expectations, whether justified or not, can't be met and contact with the organization is resinous, it ultimately doesn't matter how good the product is.

For example, it is the case that the bounce rate on websites is directly related to their loading time. We're not used to waiting anymore. Precisely because design comes into play in all touchpoints with customers, it's important that designers are embedded throughout the value chain.”

Thorsten:

“That is a crucial aspect. Every detail has to be right. Holistic thinking is the keyword. If one stone of the mosaic is missing or in the wrong place, the whole picture somehow looks wrong. The entire [brand] experience chain must be convincing.

The fashion industry is exemplary in this respect. Nothing is left to chance there. The big fashion brands have highly competent teams whose only task is to professionally stage the brand across all channels. The customers thus feel the brand in all facets, from the products to communication, fashion shows, social media, store design, and even the invoice cover. This creates impressive, unmistakable worlds of experience. Other industries can learn a lot from this brand awareness.”


We have now talked a lot about which areas are relevant for design and what that means for an organisation. But how can a company even know whether its design is good or bad? Isn't it subjective?

Daniel:

“Of course design has subjective aspects on a visual level. A design can be liked or disliked - that is always in the eye of the beholder. But ultimately a design has to be judged on whether it fulfils its function or not. Does a design succeed in communicating the company's values to customers and employees? That is a decisive indicator.”

Michel:

“And that can be measured better and better today. Through the behaviour of customers on websites, Net Promoter Scores, via social listening, and also with classic surveys, it is relatively easy to understand what impression you are making. This is also an opportunity for more agility and iteration.

The prerequisite for this is, of course, that you ascribe the same relevance to design as you do to turnover or strategy. You have to realise that it is not just an aesthetic enhancement, but a value-added measure whose effectiveness can be quantified.”

Daniel:

“But it's not just about customer contact, employees also benefit from good design.”

Thorsten:

“Good and consistent storytelling helps employees to identify with the company. This has an effect on how employees speak and behave, on their desire to work, and on their loyalty to their employer. So design is not least noticeable in direct contact and people perceive it that way. This is how a company finds the right partners. If you live a clear attitude internally, it is also credibly noticeable externally.”


Subscribe

Durch die Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden.

Okay
Sketching 2020 09 29 09 17
Zurück zu Artikeln

Design und Unternehmensführung

In diesem Interview stellen sich Thorsten Traber, Daniel Severin und Michel Schibler der Frage: Wie können Unternehmen ihr Design-Know-how verbessern?

Design Thinking, Produktdesign, Industriedesign, Modedesign und Organisationsdesign. Überall, so scheint es, geht es heute um Design. Was Design bedeutet, ist jedoch oftmals unklar. Ein Markendesigner versteht darunter etwas anderes als ein Organisationsentwickler.

Was genau müssten Unternehmen also tun, wenn sie ihr Design Know-how verbessern wollen?


Im Gespräch nähern sich Thorsten Traber, Louise Riis Ruggaber und Michel Schibler dieser Herausforderung an. Darin zeigt sich, dass der Designbegriff tatsächlich viele, ja fast schon jeden Bereich einer Organisation betrifft. Aber im Kern geht es um etwas Fundamentales: die Werte und Haltung einer Organisation angemessen zu vermitteln, und zwar so, dass sie ihre Bedürfnisse berücksichtigen. Es gibt also niemals nur Design, sondern immer nur Design von.

HBC Illu Design Fragezeichen

Wenn man heute über Design spricht, kann schnell der Eindruck entstehen, dass eigentlich alles Design ist: vom Smartphone über die Kleidung, die Gestaltung der Arbeitsplätze bis zum Städtebau oder Parteiprogramm. Ist ein solcher Designbegriff überhaupt noch sinnvoll?

Thorsten:

“Der Designbegriff wird in der Tat etwas inflationär benutzt heute. Aber man kann ihn schärfen. Grundsätzlich geht es bei Design schlicht und einfach darum, dass darin die Haltung eines Unternehmens zum Ausdruck kommt. Dabei spielt die Grösse des Unternehmens oder die Branche keine Rolle. Design macht Inhalte, Ideen und Werte erlebbar. Das kann visuell geschehen, aber auch über Düfte, Materialien, Oberflächen, vom geschriebenen Wort bis hin zur Architektur.”

Michel:

“Überall, wo Menschen miteinander oder mit einem Unternehmen in Kontakt kommen, spielt Design eine Rolle. Wie fühlt sich das Produkt an? Wie benutzerfreundlich ist eine Website? Wie sieht ein Geschäftsbericht aus? Gibt es die Möglichkeit zu Feedback, und welchen Eindruck macht die Kundenbetreuung? Wie wird auf Beschwerden eingegangen? Dieses Bewusstsein und Verständnis von Design in einem Unternehmen zu etablieren, ist eine grosse Herausforderung.”

Insight 04

Design ist also ein wesentlicher Aspekt guter Unternehmensführung.

Michel:

“Es zeigt sich, dass Organisationen mit einer hohen Designkompetenz am Markt besser abschneiden als solche, die das nicht haben. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass Designer nicht nur an Logos rumbasteln, sondern beispielsweise auch auf Führungsebene oder in interdisziplinären Teams in die Gesamtentwicklung einer Organisation einbezogen werden.”

Daniel:

“Dass Design auf Führungsebene gelebt und wertgeschätzt wird, ist auch für Designer wichtig. Denn etwas zu designen bedeutet immer auch, sich zu exponieren. Das braucht Mut und Überwindung. Ein Unternehmen muss eine Kultur entwickeln, die Freiräume für Kreativität ermöglicht.”

Thorsten:

“Zu dieser Kultur gehört auch ein Verabschieden der Annahme, die man übrigens auch häufig bei Kunden trifft, dass der Designprozess schnell gehen muss. Gerade die digitalen Möglichkeiten suggerieren, dass es einfach ist, ein neues Design zu entwickeln.

Es gibt Websites für Logos, für Schriftzüge und solche, die einem individualisierbare Templates für den eigenen Internetauftritt zur Verfügung stellen. Aber Design besteht nicht einfach in einem modernisierten Logo oder einer neuen Anordnung der Angebote auf der Website. Für das Gelingen eines Designs ist es entscheidend, dass man die Werte und Haltungen der Organisation zum Ausdruck bringt, dies kann eben auch in nonverbaler Art, etwa durch ein Web- oder Produktdesign, geschehen.

Der erste Schritt zu einem guten Design besteht also in der Entwicklung dieses Wirkungsbewusstseins. Man muss sich genau überlegen, welche Botschaft man senden und wie man sie wahrgenommen haben möchte. Deshalb ist der Designprozess ein langer, intrikater Prozess, für den man sich Zeit nehmen muss.”

Daniel:

“Hier zu investieren, lohnt sich aber. Nicht zuletzt, weil man dann bei der Umsetzung nicht noch zahlreiche, kostenintensive Extraschlaufen machen muss.”

Das klingt ja fast so, als ob Design matchentscheidend wäre für die Leistung einer Organisation. Aber spielen nicht andere Faktoren wie attraktive Arbeitsbedingungen oder eine hohe Produktqualität eine wichtigere Rolle?

Daniel:

“Ich denke nicht, dass man die Rolle von Design überschätzen kann. Die Digitalisierung trägt einiges dazu bei. Digitale Möglichkeiten wie Plattformen und Foren führen zu einer erhöhten Sichtbarkeit und Vergleichbarkeit fast sämtlicher Tätigkeiten einer Firma. Dadurch steigen die Erwartungshaltungen der Kunden. Das führt natürlich auch zu erhöhten Ansprüchen an die Designkompetenz.”

Thorsten:

“Genau. Wir sind heute völlig überflutet mit Informationen. Mit Design kann man sich, muss man sich differenzieren. Ein gutes Design erlaubt es einer Organisation, sich aus dem egalitären Allerlei herauszuheben.”

Michel:

“Wir haben durch Apps wie Facebook, WhatsApp oder Google einen hohen Anspruch an die Benutzerfreundlichkeit entwickelt und übertragen das nun. Wenn wir etwa ein Konto eröffnen, Kleider einkaufen gehen oder die Steuererklärung ausfüllen, erwarten wir ein angenehmes Erlebnis. Wenn diese Erwartungen, egal ob gerechtfertigt oder nicht, nicht erfüllt werden können und der Kontakt zu der Organisation harzig ist, spielt es letztendlich keine Rolle, wie gut das Produkt ist.

Beispielsweise ist es so, dass die Absprungquote auf Webseiten direkt mit ihrer Ladezeit zusammenhängt. Wir sind es nicht mehr gewohnt zu warten. Gerade weil Design in sämtlichen Touchpoints zu Kunden zum Tragen kommt, ist es wichtig, dass Designer über die gesamte Wertschöpfung hinweg eingebettet werden.”

Thorsten:

“Das ist ein entscheidender Aspekt. Es muss jedes Detail stimmen. Ganzheitliches Denken ist das Schlüsselwort. Wenn ein Stein des Mosaiks fehlt oder am falschen Ort ist, wirkt das ganze Bild irgendwie falsch. Die ganze Erlebniskette (Brand Experience) muss überzeugen.

Die Fashion-Industrie macht das vorbildlich. Dort wird nichts dem Zufall überlassen. Die grossen Fashion Brands haben hochkompetente Teams, deren einzige Aufgabe darin besteht, die Marke über alle Kanäle hinweg professionell zu inszenieren. Die Kunden spüren die Marke somit in sämtlichen Facetten – von den Produkten über die Kommunikation, Fashion Shows, Social Media, Store Design bis hin zur Rechnungshülle. Dadurch entstehen eindrückliche, unverwechselbare Erlebniswelten. Von diesem Markenbewusstsein können andere Industrien noch viel lernen.”

Wir haben nun viel darüber gesprochen, welche Bereiche für Design relevant sind und was das für eine Organisation bedeutet. Aber wie kann ein Unternehmen überhaupt wissen, ob sein Design gut oder schlecht ist? Ist das nicht subjektiv?

Daniel:

“Natürlich hat Design auf visueller Ebene subjektive Aspekte. Ein Design kann gefallen oder nicht – das liegt immer auch im Auge des Betrachters. Aber letztendlich muss ein Design daran beurteilt werden, ob es seine Funktion erfüllt oder nicht. Schafft es ein Design, die Werthaltung des Unternehmens an die Kunden und die Mitarbeitenden zu bringen? Das ist ein entscheidender Indikator.”

Michel:

“Und das lässt sich heute immer besser messen. Über das Verhalten der Kunden auf Websites, Net Promoter Scores, via Social Listening, aber auch mit klassischen Umfragen kann man relativ gut nachvollziehen, welchen Eindruck man hinterlässt. Dies ist auch eine Chance für mehr Agilität und Iteration.

Bedingung dafür ist natürlich, dass man Design dieselbe Relevanz zuschreibt wie etwa Umsatz oder Strategie. Man muss erkennen, dass es sich dabei nicht nur um eine ästhetische Aufwertung handelt, sondern um eine auf die Wertschöpfung einzahlende Massnahme, deren Effektivität man messen kann.”

Daniel:

“Es geht aber nicht nur um den Kontakt zu Kunden, sondern von einem guten Design profitieren auch die Mitarbeitenden.”

Thorsten:

“Gutes und konsistentes Storytelling hilft den Mitarbeitenden, sich mit dem Unternehmen zu identifizieren. Das wirkt sich darauf aus, wie Mitarbeitende sprechen und sich verhalten, auf die Lust an der Arbeit und die Loyalität zum Arbeitgeber. Design ist also nicht zuletzt auch im direkten Kontakt spürbar. Und das wird von den Menschen auch so wahrgenommen. Dadurch findet eine Firma die richtigen Partner. Wenn man intern eine klare Haltung lebt, ist sie auch nach aussen glaubhaft spürbar.”

Abonnieren

  • © 2022 Hotz Brand Consultants
    Alle Rechte vorbehalten
  • Datenschutz