This website uses cookies. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Okay
2019 11 08 13 46 30 2000px
Back to Articles

The Brand Experience Fingerprint

There is only one way to create impact with a brand: it has to be experienced. Brand experiences are the interface between people and the brand.

There is only one way to create impact with a brand: it has to be experienced. Brand experiences are the interface between people and the brand.

More and more SMEs are relying on the power of the brand to win new customers, to make existing customers more loyal, and also to attract the best employees. But all of these people only feel experiences and to remain in peoples’ memory, experiences need a differentiating specificity. But how can one reliably grasp what constitutes such an experience?

HBC Brand Experiece Artikel Enslin Illustaration 1

The power of the brand emanates from its core, but where does it go?

There are many models and methods used to formulate a brand, but there is only one way that it can make an impact. A strategy, no matter how intelligently developed, beautifully formulated, or fundamentally correct, remains a piece of paper in a drawer if words are not followed by actions.

Clear the stage for the brand experience, the only interface between brand and people. We speak of brand experiences in many contexts. An audiovisually impressive trade fair stand. A grippy steering wheel and a roaring engine sound. Friendly and intelligent advice that helps us move forward. All examples of situations in which a person's contact with a company shapes the perception and expectation that this person now attributes to this brand.

Insight thumbnail 02

Brand Experiences = Impact

Good brand experiences create fans and margin. Bad brand experiences create shitstorms and declining market share. Especially in today’s world, where people are hard to reach and even harder to win over with pure communication tools, the experience that brands create plays a huge role.

People today listen almost exclusively to their own experiences and those of their fellow human beings. Experiences are nothing more than memories of interactions, good or bad. This is reason enough to approach the topic of brand management from an experience perspective and to take a closer look at what constitutes an experience, how it can be understood in its specificity, and how it can be reliably triggered again and again.

The Four Dimensions of Human Experiences

Brand experiences can be summarised in four dimensions:

Emotional experiences: experiences that evoke an emotion. A disappointed expectation moves our emotional world just as strongly as an exceeded expectation, only in the other direction. Experiences that do not reach a certain intensity are either not perceived at all or quickly forgotten.

Physical experiences: physical experiences are either active or reactive. Active in the case of consciously performed physical action, such as all sporting activities. Reactive in the case of experiencing physical responses to sensory input, such as laughing, crying, or being startled. However, it takes quite a bit of intensity before we actually call an experience a physical one.

Intellectual experiences: when our mind is surprised, when we experience something new or understand something (that interests us), we have intellectual experiences. These are usually sparse and highly valued when they occur. A good ‘a-ha’ experience can make a lasting impression on people and stays in the memory for a long time.

Sensory experiences: we humans are sensual beings. We have no other way of experiencing our environment than through our sensory perceptions. In the simplest case, these are visual impressions such as colour, text, a picture, or a film. But scent, the tone of a voice, and haptic impressions such as the weight, hardness, or texture of objects or environments also play a major role.

These four dimensions are not mutually exclusive, of course. Every intense, good experience, for example, will also cause a rash into the emotional. And just about every experience is at least partly sensory, otherwise, we wouldn’t be able to perceive it at all. Brand experiences unfold their true power through specificity. Through a typical quality, completely in line with their brand essence. This can be as unique as their fingerprint—their brand experience fingerprint.

Brand Experience Fingerprints Par Excellence: Some Examples

Cristiano Ronaldo is an exceptional footballer and has been Nike's figurehead for years. In 2014, Ronaldo played a header at an incredible 2.88m in a match between Real Madrid and Valencia. Nike turned it into a fantastic brand experience in some of their Niketown stores.

A football was suspended at a height of 2.88 m and visitors were invited to try and reach the ball. Many tried, none achieved, but all experienced the Nike Brand Purpose: "to bring inspiration and innovation to every athlete in the world” and “if you have a body, you are an athlete." The physical nature of the experience further lent itself to the Nike brand.

Another example, albeit a bit outdated, is Swisscom's former store design concept. Originally in 2008, an interior design was conceived in clinical white with red and blue colour accents and the curved shapes typical of Swisscom. Accordingly, the Swisscom branches looked like laboratories. However, people found the ambience off-putting and technical, and the intended conveyance of the Swisscom brand heart "full of life" turned into the opposite.

Today, Swisscom stores are optimised for the human experience, from the choice of materials to the design elements to the behavioural patterns suggested to visitors by the design of the premises—with great success. Swisscom has people in its stores again and can thus effectively make its characterising features tangible.

Conclusion: Sow Experiences, Reap Preference

People make decisions largely on the basis of their experiences. This also applies to the decision of which product they buy or what they tell their fellow men about your company. To foster customer loyalty and attract new customers, even small and medium-sized enterprises must consistently create experiences that are typical for them, relevant to customers and different from the competition. This creates loyalty and preference for the brand among the target groups, ultimately for sustainable business success.

More Insights

Related Articles

Subscribe

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies in Übereinstimmung mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden.

Okay
2019 11 08 13 46 30 2000px
Zurück zu Artikeln

Der Markenerlebnisfingerabdruck

Eine Marke wirkt nur, wenn sie erlebt wird. Was aber macht ein solches Erlebnis aus?

Es gibt nur eine Methode, mit einer Marke Wirkung zu erzielen: Sie muss erlebbar sein. Markenerlebnisse sind die Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Marke.

Mehr und mehr KMU setzen auf die Kraft der Marke. Um neue Kunden zu gewinnen. Um bestehende Kunden loyaler zu machen. Und auch, um die besten Mitarbeitenden zu gewinnen. Aber all diese Menschen spüren nur Erlebnisse. Und um im Gedächtnis der Menschen zu bleiben, brauchen Erlebnisse eine differenzierende Spezifik. Doch wie kann man zuverlässig fassen, was ein solches Erlebnis ausmacht?

HBC Brand Experiece Artikel Enslin Illustaration 1

Die Macht der Marke geht von ihrem Kern aus – aber wo geht sie hin?

Es gibt viele Modelle und Methoden, eine Marke zu formulieren. Aber es gibt nur eine Methode, mit der Marke Wirkung zu erzielen. Eine Strategie, und sei sie auch noch so intelligent erarbeitet, schön formuliert oder grundrichtig, bleibt ein Stück Papier in einer Schublade, wenn den Worten keine Taten folgen.

Bühne frei für das Markenerlebnis, die einzige Schnittstelle zwischen Marke und Menschen. Wir sprechen von Markenerlebnissen in vielerlei Kontext. Ein audiovisuell beeindruckender Messestand. Ein griffiges Lenkrad und ein röhrendes Motorengeräusch. Eine freundliche und intelligente Beratung, die uns weiterbringt. Alles Beispiele von Situationen, in denen der Kontakt eines Menschen mit einem Unternehmen die Wahrnehmung und die Erwartungshaltung prägt, die dieser Mensch dieser Marke nun zuschreibt.

Insight thumbnail 02

Markenerlebnisse = Wirkung

Gute Markenerlebnisse schaffen Fans und Marge. Schlechte Markenerlebnisse schaffen Shitstorms und sinkende Marktanteile. Insbesondere in der heutigen Zeit, in der die Menschen mit reinen Kommunikationsmitteln kaum noch zu erreichen und noch viel schwieriger zu gewinnen sind, spielt das Erlebnis, das Marken stiften, eine gewaltige Rolle.

Menschen hören heute fast ausschliesslich auf ihre eigenen Erfahrungen und auf die ihrer Mitmenschen. Und Erfahrungen sind nichts anderes als Erinnerungen an Erlebnisse, gute oder schlechte. Grund genug, sich dem Thema Markenführung einmal aus der Erlebnis-Perspektive zu nähern und unter die Lupe zu nehmen, was ein Erlebnis ausmacht, wie man es in seiner Spezifik begreifen und so zuverlässig immer wieder auslösen kann.

Die vier Dimensionen der menschlichen Erlebnisse

Markenerlebnisse lassen sich in vier Dimensionen fassen:

Emotionale Erlebnisse: Erlebnisse, die eine Gefühlsregung hervorrufen. Eine enttäuschte Erwartung bewegt unsere Gefühlswelt dabei genauso stark wie eine übertroffene, nur eben in die andere Richtung. Erlebnisse, die eine Gewisse Intensität nicht erreichen, nehmen wir entweder gar nicht wahr oder vergessen sie schnell wieder.

Physische Erlebnisse: Körperliche Erlebnisse sind entweder aktiv oder reaktiv. Aktiv im Falle von bewusst ausgeführter körperlicher Aktion, wie zum Beispiel alle sportlichen Aktivitäten. Reaktiv im Erleben von körperlichen Antworten auf Sinneseindrücke, wie Lachen, Weinen oder Erschrecken. Es braucht jedoch schon einiges an Intensität, bis wir ein körperliches Erlebnis auch als solches bezeichnen.

Intellektuelle Erlebnisse: Wenn unser Verstand überrascht wird, wenn wir Neues erfahren oder etwas begreifen (das uns interessiert), haben wir intellektuelle Erlebnisse. Diese sind meistens spärlich gesät und dementsprechend hoch geschätzt, wenn sie vorkommen. Ein gutes Aha-Erlebnis kann Menschen nachhaltig Eindruck machen und bleibt lange im Gedächtnis.

Sensorische Erlebnisse: Wir Menschen sind sinnliche Wesen. Wir haben keine andereArt, unsere Umwelt zu erleben, als über unsere Sinneswahrnehmungen. Im einfachsten Fall sind das visuelle Eindrücke wie eine Farbe, ein Text oder ein Bild oder ein Film. Aber auch Duft, der Tonfall einer Stimme und haptische Eindrücke wie Gewicht, Härte oder Textur von Objekten oder Umfeldern spielen eine grosse Rolle.

Diese vier Dimensionen existieren natürlich nicht «entweder/oder». Jedes intensive, gute Erlebnis wird beispielsweise auch einen Ausschlag ins Emotionale hervorrufen. Und so gut wie jedes Erlebnis ist zumindest zum Teil ein sensorisches, sonst könnten wir es gar nicht wahrnehmen. Wahre Kraft entfalten Markenerlebnisse durch Spezifik. Durch eine typische Beschaffenheit, ganz in line mit ihrem Markenkern. So einzigartig wie ihr Fingerabdruck – ihr Brand Experience Fingerprint.

Brand Experience Fingerprints par excellence – einige Beispiele

Cristiano Ronaldo ist ein Ausnahmefussballer und seit Jahren Aushängeschild von Nike. 2014 spielte Ronaldo in einem Spiel zwischen Real Madrid und Valencia einen Kopfball auf sagenhaften 2,88 m Höhe. Nike machte daraus in einigen ihrer Niketown-Stores ein fantastisches Markenerlebnis.

Auf 2,88 m Höhe wurde ein Fussball aufgehängt, und die Besucher wurden aufgefordert, zu versuchen, den Ball zu erreichen. Versucht haben’s viele, erreicht keiner, aber alle haben den Nike Brand Purpose erlebt: «To bring inspiration and innovation to every athlete in the world – And if you have a body, you are an athlete.» Und das auf eine Art, die für Nike typisch ist, weil körperlich.

Ein anderes Beispiel, wenn auch ein bisschen in die Jahre gekommen, ist das frühere Store-Design-Konzept der Swisscom. Ursprünglich im Jahr 2008 wurde eine Inneneinrichtung konzipiert in klinischem Weiss, mit roten und blauen Farbakzenten und den Swisscom-typischen geschwungenen Formen. Dementsprechend wirkten die Swisscom Filialen wie Labors. Das Ambiente wurde aber von den Menschen als abweisend und technisch empfunden, und die beabsichtigte Vermittlung des Swisscom-Markenherzen «voller Leben» schlug ins Gegenteil um.

Heute sind Swisscom-Stores auf das menschliche Erleben hin optimiert: von der Materialwahl über die Designelemente bis hin zu den Verhaltensmustern, die den Besuchern durch die Ausgestaltung der Räumlichkeiten nahegelegt werden. Mit grossem Erfolg. Die Swisscom hat wieder Menschen in ihren Stores und kann so ihre charakterisierenden Eigenschaften wirkungsvoll erlebbar machen.

Fazit: Erlebnisse säen, Präferenz ernten.

Menschen fällen Entscheidungen zum allergrössten Teil aufgrund ihrer Erfahrungen. Auch die Entscheidung, welches Produkt sie kaufen oder was sie ihren Mitmenschen über Ihr Unternehmen erzählen. Um die Kundentreue und die Gewinnung von Neukunden zu fördern, müssen auch Klein- und Mittelunternehmen konsequent Erlebnisse schaffen, die für sie typisch, für die Kunden relevant und vom Wettbewerb verschieden sind. So entsteht bei den Zielgruppen Bindung und Präferenz für die Marke – für nachhaltigen unternehmerischen Erfolg.

Abonnieren

  • © 2022 Hotz Brand Consultants
    Alle Rechte vorbehalten
  • Datenschutz